Basic Principles of Legal Translation

Basic Principles of Legal Translation

Introduction

Workshop Leader: Dr. Ahmed Alaoui
Workshop Schedule Date: 12 April 20 - 15 April 20
Workshop Schedule Time: 4:00 - 7:00 pm
Duration: 3 hours
Venue: Penrose House (LAS) Building - Classroom A015

About the Workshop

Overview

Law is a part of culture; hence legal translation is “documentary translation” (secondary text to help understanding). Though the translation does not replace the original text with its legal status, it should be transparent enough to produce the same legal effects in practice. The legal translator’s work is based on Hermeneutics, since one needs to understand the text without necessarily being a jurist. The source text offers the input on the basis of which a new autonomous text is created in the target language taking into account mainly the needs of the final users. Written legal documents are characterized by a specific style and rhetorical structure to prevent fraud, additions, omissions or alterations in legal text. These characteristics differ across languages.

This workshop aims to present the basic principles of legal translation, highlighting the common features of the language of the law and legal documents, problems and challenges. Participants will be introduced to the role and functions of translation in the various forms of legal texts, and will be familiarized with the principles, techniques and constraints of legal translation.

Target Participants

This Workshop is recommended for translation students, new entrants to the profession and established practitioners of legal translation. The maximum capacity is 20 participants.

Structure

The workshop will be divided into four parts, the first of which explores the language of the law, its characteristics, types and forms of legal documents. The second part will address the challenges commonly encountered by legal translators and interpreters, highlighting the structure of legal documents. The third and fourth parts will provide participants with an opportunity to translate some real legal documents from English into Arabic and vice versa.

Day 1: Introduction to Legal Translation

  • Language of the language
  • The grammatical structure of legal sentence in English
  • Legal terminology

Day 2: Practical Session

Translating certificates (school, university, birth, marriage… etc.)

Day 3: Practical Session

Translating contracts (rent, buy, sell, maintenance… etc.)

Day 4: Practical Session

Translating companies’ documents (shares sale and purchase agreement)

Methodology

This workshop is theoretical and practical in nature as it provides participants with the strategies and techniques used by legal translators to overcome the challenges encountered during the translation process:

  • Real exercises of legal documents that legal translator deals with in day-to day practice.
  • Find the best solution rather than the final cut-and-dried solution, keeping the same thematic structure of the source text;
  • Focus on translating as text-production (textuality test).
  • Practicing participants will be invited to bring in their own experience as to the dilemmas they have encountered in their careers.

Learning Objectives

  • To familiarize and to develop participants’ knowledge of legal terms and their definitions;
  • To improve participants’ ability to analyze and to develop comprehension and translation skills of different legal texts from English into Arabic and vice versa;
  • Raise awareness to the major problems encountered in legal translation;
  • Build capacity to develop the translation strategies professional translators use to solve such problems.

Outcomes

  1. Participants develop their understanding of legal language and terms, and the skills required to take informed decisions in the translation process.
  2. Participants develop the skill of analyzing legal texts for translation purposes.
  3. Participants acquire new skills and techniques in legal translation.
  4. Participants develop the skill of repairing aspects of loss.

Register for this workshop

About the Leader/Instructor
Dr. Ahmed Alaoui

Dr. Ahmed Alaoui has been working for the Translation and Training Center at the Translation and Interpreting Institute (TII) as the Head of Translation Services since December 2013. Before joining TII, he was a Professor of Translation (Head of the Professional BA Translation Program) at Ibn Tufayl University, Morocco. He is a holder of a Ph.D in Translation and Master’s Degree in Linguistics. He is a graduate of the University of Wales, and University of Essex, England. His research work focuses on translation pedagogy (translator-training). His latest book, Translation: a Practical Guide for English-Arabic Translators, is the fruit of more than 20 years of teaching translation at the graduate and postgraduate levels. He has written many articles on translation pedagogy. He was also a Visiting Scholar at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, USA, and University of Nantes, France.

Dr. Alaoui is also a confirmed professional translator, certified by the United Nations (Roster) and the Ministry of Justice of the Kingdom of Morocco. Before joining TII, he served as a Translation Project Manager at Interlangues Ltd, providing translation and revision services to national and international organizations. He has been leading Legal Translation workshops for more than 20 years

Top

Basic Principles of Legal Translation

أساسيات ترجمة الوثائق القانونية

مقدمة

قائد ورشة العمل: الدكتور أحمد العلوي
تاريخ ورشة العمل: ۱۲ ابريل ۲۰ - ۱٥ ابريل ۲۰
توقيت ورشة العمل: 4:00 - 7:00 مساءً
مدة: 3 ساعات
المكان: مبنى بنروز هاوس (الآداب والعلوم) - قاعة المحاضرات A015

حول ورشة العمل

ملخص

لمّا كان القانون جانبًا من جوانب الثقافة، اصطلح البعض على تسمية الترجمة القانونية "الترجمة التوثيقية" (على اعتبار أنها نصٌ ثانوي غايتُه المساعدة في الفهم). ومع أن الترجمة لا تحلّ محلّ النص الأصلي بصفته القانونية، يتعين أن تتحلى بشفافية كاملة لصنع الأثر القانوني نفسه عند التطبيق. أما عمل المترجم القانوني فيرتكز إلى نظرية علم التأويل من منطلق أن المرء يحتاج لفهم النص دون أن يكون فقيهًا قانونيًا بالضرورة؛ أي إنّ النص الأصلي يقدم معلوماتٍ تُستخدم في كتابة نصٍ جديد بلغة أخرى مع مراعاة احتياجات الفئة التي ستستخدمه أولاً وقبل كل شيء. تتميز النصوص القانونية المكتوبة بأسلوب محدد وبنية بلاغية هدفها منع التلاعب بالنص القانوني أو الإضافة إليه أو الحذف منه أو تحويره. وتختلف هذه الميزات باختلاف اللغات.

تهدف ورشة العمل هذه إلى شرح المبادئ الأساسية للترجمة القانونية، وتسليط الضوء على أهم الخصائص اللغوية للقوانين والنصوص القانونية، والتحديات التي تحملها في ثناياها بالنسبة للمترجمين المحترفين. وسيتعرف المشاركون على دور ووظيفة الترجمة في مختلف أشكال الوثائق القانونية بين العربية والإنجليزية، ويلمّون بمختلف أساليب الترجمة وقيودها.

المشاركون المستهدفون

تناسب ورشة العمل هذه طلاب الترجمة، والممارسين الجدد لمهنة الترجمة، والمترجمين المحترفين، وخبراء وفقهاء القانون. الحد الأقصى لعدد المشاركين 20 مشاركًا.

بنية الورشة

تنقسم الورشة إلى أربعة أقسام، يناقش الأول منها لغة القوانين وخصائصها، وأنماط وأشكال الوثائق القانونية. ويتناول القسم الثاني التحديات التي عادة ما يواجهها المترجمون القانونيون، مع تسليط الضوء على بنية الوثائق القانونية، في حين يُخصّص القسمان الثالث والرابع للتدريب العملي، حيث يقوم المشاركون بترجمة وثائق قانونية بين العربية والإنجليزية تحت إشراف المدرب.

اليوم الأول – مدخل إلى الترجمة القانونية

  • لغة اللغة
  • البنية القواعدية للجملة القانونية في اللغة الإنجليزية
  • المصطلحات القانونية

اليوم الثاني – جلسة عملية

ترجمة الشهادات (المدرسية، الجامعية، شهادات الميلاد والزواج... وغيرها)

اليوم الثالث – جلسة عملية

ترجمة العقود (الإيجار، الشراء والبيع، الصيانة... وغيرها)

اليوم الرابع – جلسة عملية

ترجمة وثائق الشركات (بيع الأسهم، واتفاقيات الشراء)

المنهجية

تغطي الورشة الإطار النظري والأسس العملية في الترجمة القانونية، وتنفذ كافة التمارين تحت التدريب الموجّه بحيث يتعلم المشاركون الاستراتيجيات والتقنيات التي يستخدمها المترجمون القانونيون للتغلب على التحديات التي تواجههم خلال عملية الترجمة:

  • ترجمة وثائق قانونية حية من بيئة عمل المترجم اليومية
  • إيجاد أفضل الحلول بدلاً من الحلول الجاهزة والجامدة، مع المحافظة في ذات الوقت على البنية الهيكلية المواضيعية للنص الأصلي
  • التركيز على الترجمة بوصفها عمليةً لإنتاج النصوص (اختبار التركيبة النصيّة)
  • استعراض المشكلات التي واجهها المشاركون في ميدان الترجمة القانونية    

أهداف التعلم

  • تعريف المشاركين بالمصطلحات القانونية وتطوير مهاراتهم في التفريق بينها والإلمام بتعريفاتها
  • بناء القدرات في مجال تحليل واستيعاب مختلف أشكال النصوص القانونية وإتقان مهارات ترجمتها بين اللغتين العربية والإنجليزية
  • زيادة الوعي بالمشكلات الرئيسية في ترجمة الوثائق القانونية
  • بناء القدرات لتطوير الاستراتيجيات التي يعتمدها المترجمون المحترفون في التعامل مع تلك المشكلات 

نتائج التعلم

  1. تطوير مستوى الوعي باللغة القانونية ومصطلحاتها، والمهارات اللازمة لاتخاذ قراراتٍ مستنيرة أثناء ترجمة الوثائق القانونية
  2. تطوير مهارات تحليل الوثائق القانونية بهدف ترجمتها إلى لغة أخرى
  3. اكتساب مهارات وتقنيات جديدة في ترجمة الوثائق القانونية
  4. تطوير مهارة إصلاح جوانب النقص الذي يقع أثناء عملية الترجمة

قم بالتسجيل الآن

قائد ورشة العمل
الدكتور أحمد العلوي

يعمل الدكتور أحمد العلوي بمركز الترجمة والتدريب بمعهد دراسات التّرجمة التابع لجامعة حمد بن خليفة في قطر بوصفه رئيسًا لقسم خدمات الترجمة سنة 2013. وقبل التحاقه بالمعهد، كان أستاذًا يدرّس الترجمة ويشرف على برنامج الإجازة المهنيّة في الترجمة، بجامعة ابن طفيل في المغرب. الدكتور العلوي خرّيج جامعة ويلز في بريطانيا وجامعة إيسيكس في إنجلترا، وهو حاصل على شهادة الماجستير وشهادة الدكتوراه. وتتمحور أبحاثه الأكاديميّة حول مناهج تدريس الترجمة  (تدريب المترجمين). ويُعتبر آخر كتاب صدر له تحت عنوان Translation: a Practical Guide for English-Arabic Translators ، ثمرة ما يزيد عن  25 سنة من تدريس التّرجمة في السلك العادي والعالي والمختص. وإلى جانب العديد من المقالات التي ألّفها في مجال مناهج تدريس الترجمة، يتولى اليوم الإشراف على برامج التطوير المهني وتنظيم وُرش التدريب لفائدة المترجمين فضلاً عن طلاب الماجستير بالمعهد. وقد سبق وكان أستاذًا زائرًا بجامعة ماساشوستس في أمهورست بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وجامعة نانت بفرنسا.

الدكتور العلوي مترجمٌ محترف معتمد من لدن منظمة الأمم المتحدة (لائحة الخبراء المعتمدين) ووزارة العدل بالمملكة المغربيّة. وقبل التحاقه بالمعهد، اشتغل في شركة أنتيرلانك المحدودة، بوصفه مديرًا لمشاريع التّرجمة، حيث كان يشرف على تقديم خدمات التّرجمة والمراجعة للمؤسّسات الوطنيّة والدوليّة. وقد أشرف على عدد كبير من ورش العمل المهنية في الترجمة القانونية في خلال العشرين سنة الماضية.

Top