Translation Technologies: Mastering SDL Trados

Introduction

Workshop Leader: Wahba Youssef
Workshop Schedule Date: 10 December 17 - 13 December 17
Workshop Schedule Time: 4:00 - 7:00 pm
Duration: 3 hours
Venue: LAS Building - Classroom A019B

About the Workshop

Overview

Translation technologies are tools to aid in translating texts; they are not replacements for human translators. They are helpful devices that can change the way we work, taking over tasks that are tedious and repetitive, and leaving to us what we do best, namely using our mental process to make wise decisions.
The workshop explains how CAT tools prove to be very valuable, especially as far as the language elements in the project are concerned. Such a value can be optimized depending on the expertise of translators and project managers in dealing with CAT tools. Knowing how to efficiently handle these tools turns them into an asset for professional translators and language service providers.
This workshop is designed for professional translators and translation studies students who wish to quickly explore CAT tools with emphasis on SDL Trados Studio, so that they can start working productively with this leading translation system from day one.

Structure

The scope of this workshop is to familiarize participants with the main features of SDL Trados Studio. It contains practical, real-life examples of how to leverage SDL Trados Studio to streamline translation processes. This workshop provides the following:

  • General information on CAT technologies;
  • Overview of the SDL Trados Studio;
  • Examples of how to translate documents using the most commonly exploited features in SDL Trados Studio;

Methodology

The main focus of this training workshop is on real-life examples, for which training sample files will be used. Some presentations will be used to explain the theoretical ideas behind the practical examples used during the training.

Learning Objectives

  1. CAT technologies overview;
  2. SDL Trados Studio Environment;
  3. Configure the application to your personal preferences;
  4. Deliver the finished translation;
  5. Exchange experiences and discuss concerns with a view to improving the usage of translation technologies in both theory and practice.

Learning outcomes

  1. Understand CAT technologies: what is a translation memory (TM), termbase, AutoSuggest dictionary?
  2. Create and maintain Translation Memories
  3. Translate MS Office files in SDL Trados Studio making use of the most common features;
  4. Translate PDF files;
  5. Segment Fragment Matching;
  6. User Defined Settings;
  7. Aligne Legacy Files;
  8. Generate Auto-Suggest Dictionaries;
  9. Create Termbases from Excel glossaries;
  10. Perform Fuzzy Match Repairs;
  11. Generate target translations and update translation memories.

Target Participants

This Workshop is recommended for translation students, new entrants to the profession and established practitioners. The maximum capacity is 10 participants.

Register for this workshop

About the Leader/Instructor
Wahba Youssef

Wahba Youssef has been working for the Professional Services Center as a Senior Translation Specialist since October 2015. He is leading the CAT Tools practice at TII and working towards training Translation Studies MA students on using such tools and project management techniques.

Academically, Wahba is a graduate of Ain Shams University, Faculty of Alsun, Egypt, 2001. His major study was English, Arabic and German.  He has supported his linguistic study with a diploma in Information Systems Analysis and Design regulated by NCC with cooperation with the Egyptian Ministry of Communications in 2003. Moving to work in the Capital of England, London, he pursued his academic studies by having a BA degree in International Business and Management from Bournemouth University. Additionally he gained a level 2 diploma in Financial Accounting under the regulation of the Association of Accounting Technicians in London and was awarded the membership of the association.

Professionally, between 2001 and 2004, Wahba worked in Egypt for Dar El Farouk Publishing House as an English-Arabic Translator where he translated so many books in the two disciplines of Information Technology and Finance and Investment. Then he moved to Future Group to work as a Senior Translator for 3 years. Since then, he focused on using CAT Tools in translation such as SDL Trados, Wordfast Pro and MemoQ. In 2007, he was offered a position by Ernst & Young to work as a Financial Translator and Reviewer for 3 years in Kuwait. After that he settled in London and started a new phase of his professional career; he spent six years contracting with local and international clients in the UK to provide them with translation services using cutting edge technologies of translation.

Top

Translation Technologies: Mastering SDL Trados

تكنولوجيات الترجمة: برنامج SDL Trados

مقدمة

قائد ورشة العمل: وهبة يوسف
تاريخ ورشة العمل: ۱۰ ديسمبر ۱۷ - ۱۳ ديسمبر ۱۷
توقيت ورشة العمل: 4:00 ً- 7:00 مساء
مدة: 3 ساعات
المكان: مبنى الآداب والعلوم LAS - قاعة المحاضرات A019B

حول ورشة العمل

لمحة عامة

تكنولوجيات الترجمة عبارة عن أدوات غايتها مساعدة المترجمين ومديري مشاريع الترجمة، ودورها ليس بديلاً لدور البشر؛ فهي أدوات مفيدة بمقدورها تغيير أسلوب عملنا وتولي الأعمال المضجرة والمتكررة، ما يفسح المجال أمامنا للقيام بأفضل ما لدينا، أي توظيف عملياتنا العقلية لاتخاذ قرارات حكيمةٍ مستنيرة.
تشرح الورشة كيف أثبتت أدوات الترجمة بمساعدة الحاسوب أهميتها، لا سيّما فيما يتصل بالعناصر اللغوية في مشروع الترجمة؛ إذ يمكن توظيف هذه الأهمية بحسب خبرة المترجمين ومديري المشاريع في التعامل مع تلك الأدوات، ومعرفة توظيفها بفاعلية يحوّلها إلى أداة مفيدة للغاية في هذا الإطار.
تناسب ورشة العمل هذه المترجمين المحترفين وطلاب دراسات الترجمة، ممن يرغبون بتعلم أدوات الترجمة بمساعدة الحاسوب بسرعة، وخاصة برنامج SDL Trados، كي يتمكنوا من زيادة إنتاجيتهم منذ اليوم الأول.

بنية الورشة

تتضمن الورشة مزيجًا من الأنشطة العملية على طريقة عمل SDL Trados في ضبط مراحل الترجمة وانسياب عملياتها. كما تتضمن ما يلي:

  • معلوماتٍ عامة عن تكنولوجيات الترجمة بمساعدة الحاسوب
  • استعراضًا شاملاً لبرنامج SDL Trados
  • أمثلة عن كيفية ترجمة الوثائق باستخدام المزايا الأساسية في البرنامج

المنهجية

تشمل الورشة عدة عروض تقديمية لشرح الإطار النظري للنماذج التدريبية المستخدمة، ومن ثم يتم القيام بتمارين عملية وتنفيذ مشاريع قصيرة.

أهداف التعلم

  1. استعراض أدوات الترجمة بمساعدة الحاسوب
  2. استعراض برنامج SLD Trados
  3. إعداد البرنامج واختيار التفضيلات الشخصية للعمل
  4. إنجاز الترجمة باستخدام البرنامج
  5. تبادل الخبرات ومناقشة كافة الجوانب المتعلقة باستخدام تكنولوجيات الترجمة من حيث النظرية والتطبيق   

مخرجات التعلم

  1. التعرف على تكنولوجيات الترجمة، ومصطلح ذاكرة الترجمة، وقاعدة المصطلحات، وقاموس مقترحات الترجمة
  2. التعرف على برنامج SDL Trados
  3. إنشاء ذاكرة للترجمة وإدارتها
  4. ترجمة ملفات مايكروسوفت أوفيس في برنامج SDL Trados باستخدام أكثر مزايا البرنامج شيوعًا
  5. ترجمة ملفات PDF في البرنامج
  6. إيجاد المقاطع المتطابقة داخل ذاكرة البرنامج
  7. تعديل الإعدادات حسب رغبات المستخدم
  8. محاذاة الملفات المترجمة سابقًا
  9. إنشاء قواميس مقترحات الترجمة
  10. إنشاء قواعد مصطلحات مشتقة من مسارد المصطلحات المنشأة في برنامج أكسل
  11. إصلاح مقاطع الترجمة غير المتطابقة مع الذاكرة
  12. إنشاء النص النهائي للترجمة وتحديث ذاكرة الترجمة

المشاركون المستهدفون

تناسب ورشة العمل هذه طلاب الترجمة، والممارسين الجدد لمهنة الترجمة، والمترجمين المحترفين. الحد الأقصى لعدد المشاركين 10 مشاركين.

قم بالتسجيل الآن

قائد ورشة العمل
وهبة يوسف

يشغل وهبة يوسف منصب أخصائي أول في الترجمة التحريرية بمركز الخدمات الاحترافية في معهد دراسات الترجمة منذ شهر أكتوبر من عام 2015. وهو يقود استخدام تقنيات الترجمة بمساعدة الحاسوب في المركز، ويعمل على تدريب طلاب ماجستير دراسات الترجمة على استخدام هذه التقنيات وأساليب إدارة المشروعات.

تخرّج وهبة في كليّة الألسن بجامعة عين شمس (مصر) في عام 2001 مختصًا في اللغات الإنجليزية والعربية والألمانية. وقد عزز دراسته اللغوية بدارسة تحليل وتصميم نظم المعلومات من خلال حصوله على دبلومة تصميم وتحليل نظم المعلومات تحت إشراف مؤسسة إن سي سي العالمية وبدعم من وزارة الاتصالات المصرية في عام 2003. وبعد انتقاله إلى العمل في العاصمة الإنجليزية لندن، تابع وهبة مسيرته الأكاديمية بالحصول على درجة البكالوريوس في الأعمال الدولية والإدارة من جامعة بورنموث، بالإضافة إلى دبلومة في المحاسبة المالية تحت إشراف جمعية فنيي المحاسبة الإنجليزية ونال عضويتها بعد استكمال المستوى الثاني.

على الصعيد المهني، عمل وهبة بين عامي 2001 و2004 مترجمًا في دار الفاروق للطباعة والنشر، حيث ترجم العديد من الكتب المتخصصة في مجال تكنولوجيا المعلومات وقطاع المال والاستثمار. ثم انتقل للعمل في مجموعة المستقبل كمترجم أول لمدة ثلاث سنوات، وانصبّ تركيزه من ذلك الحين على تقنيات الترجمة بمساعدة الحاسوب مثل SDL TRADOS، و Wordfast Pro، و MemoQ. وفي عام 2007، استعانت مؤسسة إرنست ويونغ للتدقيق المحاسبي العالمية بخدماته لشغل وظيفة مترجم ومدقق للنصوص المالية في فرع الشركة بالكويت لمدة ثلاث سنوات، ما لبث بعدها أن انتقل إلى لندن ليبدأ مرحلة جديدة في مسيرته المهنية، فعمل مترجمًا متعاقدًا مع العديد من المؤسسات المحلية والدولية العاملة في المملكة المتحدة لمدة ست سنوات لتقديم خدمات الترجمة باستخدام أحدث التقنيات.

Top