Master the Technique of Note-taking

Master the Technique of Note-taking

Introduction

Workshop Leader: Mazen Alfarhan
Workshop Schedule Date: 26 January 20 - 29 January 20
Workshop Schedule Time: 4:00 - 7:00 pm
Duration: 3 hours
Venue: Penrose House (LAS) Building - Classroom A015

About the Workshop

Overview:

Although Simultaneous Interpreting has prevailed in recent years, Consecutive Interpreting service continues to play an important role. In terms of business interaction, it is ideal for last minute meetings, court hearings/depositions, interviews, and medical consultations, and does not require any professional equipment. Many even consider it to be much more reliable than other forms of interpreting, as your interpreter is sitting with you. This allows them to notice any nuances in body language, and relay that within the translation. As such, Consecutive Interpreting offers the advantage of being more conversational, with each party given an equal opportunity to listen and understand, and speak and respond. In terms of the education and training of interpreters, Consecutive Interpreting remains an integral component of most undergraduate and postgraduate interpreting programs.

Typically, when the speaker finishes their speech/remarks, or has a break in their speech, the interpreter reproduces the statement in the target language as a whole and in such a manner as if they delivered it. To store the contents of the speech/remarks, consecutive interpreters use a special system of notes, consisting of symbols representing words – keys and characters such as: consistency, negation, emphasis, entailment, etc. In this system, the interpreter is not to memorize words, but to recreate the meaning of the information from the speaker. To deliver a complete message adequately, the interpreter needs to master this system.

This workshop exposes participants to the practice of writing down pieces of information in a systematic way. And since note-taking involves certain cognitive behavior, participants will be incentivized to engage their brains in specific ways for them to grasp and retain information. They will learn how to strike a balance between recording their notes, on the one hand, and processing the information and making connections between ideas on the other.  

Structure:

The workshop consists of the following:

  • Introductory presentation;
  • Baby steps to note-taking;
  • Live exercise (by trainer);
  • Step-by-step guide to note-taking;
  • Live exercise(s) (by trainer);
  • Active listening exercises (audio and/or video texts);
  • Short group practice exercises
  • Group notes vs trainer notes
  • Conclusion and recommendations  

Methodology:

  • Stage 1: After being introduced to the skill of note-taking and the steps involved, participants will listen to multiple simple straightforward audio/video texts to evaluate their short-term memory skills, then analyze the information and transfer it into the target language.
  • Stage 2: The trainer will conduct one live note-taking exercise. The exercise will be tantamount to step-by-step guide to the skill of note-taking.
  • Stage 3: This is the cognition stage where participants start exercising: Listening Phase {listening – memory (working memory) – note-taking}; Reformulation Phase {note-reading – memory (long-term memory) – Target language production}.
  • Stage 4: Group notes vs trainer notes + conclusions and recommendations. 

Learning Objectives:

  1. Build/develop the participants’ skills in note-taking
  2. Introduce participants to consecutive interpreting via note taking;
  3. Conduct live consecutive interpreting exercises using a variety of texts
  4. Conduct short memory boosting exercises. 

Learning Outcomes:

  1. To learn about essentials of the note taking technique;
  2. To raise awareness and exposure to the consecutive interpreting environment;
  3. To acquire fairly advanced consecutive interpreting techniques;
  4. To take part in consecutive interpreting exercises with a variety of accents;
  5. To start using note-taking in consecutive interpreting;  
  6. To acquire strategies to develop short term memory and information processing.

Target Participants

This workshop is recommended for translation students and translators/interpreters, whether beginners or professionals. Bilingual social services workers in charge of language services can also benefit from this workshop. The maximum capacity is 20 participants.

Register for this workshop

About the Leader/Instructor
Mazen Alfarhan

A senior interpreter and certified legal translator with two MA degrees in interpreting/translation and diplomacy from Heriot-Watt University and London University respectively. He also holds a diploma in Arabization from Damascus University. He has been working for the last six years as a translation reviser and trainer at the Translation and Interpreting Institute of Hamad Bin Khalifa University.

A Chevening Scholar (2004-5) and a Said Scholar (2000-1), Mazen won the CHSS ‘Best Translation Poster’ prize in 2017 for his translation of Other Words Other Meanings: A Guide to Health Care Interpreting in International Settings, published by Geneva University Hospitals in 2016. He also received three Qatar Foundation ‘Professional Excellence’ awards.

As an educator, he taught Conference Interpreting at the MA Interpreting Program of Damascus University for four years (2009-2013). As a professional interpreter, he interpreted at more than 150 events and for many leaders and officials, including the late Kofi Annan, Former UN Secretary-General, Javier Solana, Former EU Representative for Foreign and Security Policy, Pervez Musharraf, Former President of Pakistan, Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Former Prime Minister of India, Romano Brodi, Former Prime Minister of Italy, Kamal Kharazi, Former Foreign Minister of Iran, and the late Sergio Vieira de Mello, Former UN Envoy to Iraq, to name a few.

 

Find out more about our MA Programs

Top

Master the Technique of Note-taking

تعلّم فن التدوين

مقدمة

قائد ورشة العمل: مازن الفرحان
تاريخ ورشة العمل: ۲٦ يناير ۲۰ - ۲۹ يناير ۲۰
توقيت ورشة العمل: 4:00 - 7:00 مساءً
مدة: 3 ساعات
المكان: مبنى بنروز هاوس (LAS) - قاعة المحاضرات A015

حول ورشة العمل

لمحة عامة:

على الرغم من انتشار الترجمة الفورية المتزامنة في السنوات الأخيرة، فما زالت الترجمة الفورية التتبعية تؤدي دورًا مهمًا للغاية؛ فهي الحل المثالي للمناقشات التجارية، وتلبّي احتياجات اللحظة الأخيرة في اجتماعات الأعمال وجلسات المحاكم والمرافعات، والمقابلات، والاستشارات الطبية، والجميل أنها لا تستلزم في أيٍّ من هذه السياقات أية معدات فنية خاصة. بل إن البعض يعدّها أكثر موثوقيةً من غيرها من أشكال الترجمة الفورية الأخرى، والسبب أن المترجم يجلس إلى جوارك فينتبه إلى كل التفاصيل المحيطة بالحضور، ومنها لغة الجسد، ويلحظها في عملية الترجمة. ولذلك تتميز الترجمة التتبعية عن غيرها بجوّها التفاعلي الصرف الذي يتيح للطرفين فرصة متساوية للاستماع والاستيعاب، والتحدث والجواب. أما من حيث تعليم وتدريب المترجمين الفوريين، فتظلّ الترجمة التتبعية مفردةً أساسيةً من مفردات معظم برامج الترجمة الفورية في الدراسات الجامعية والعليا.

من الناحية المعيارية، بمجرد أن ينتهي المتحدث من إلقاء خطابه أو سرد ملاحظاته، أو يتوقف عند نقطةٍ ما، يشرع المترجم الفوري بنقل النص قطعةً واحدة إلى اللغة الهدف وبالطريقة نفسها التي استخدمها المتحدث. ولكي يخزّن المترجم مضمون الخطاب وتفاصيله، فإنه يستخدم نظامًا خاصًا لتدوين الملاحظات يتألف من رموز تعبّر عن كلمات مفتاحية وخصائص معينة للنص، منها اتساق أفكاره، والنفي، والتوكيد، والمدلولات المقصودة. ولكي ينجح في نقل الرسالة كاملةً باقتدار، فعليه أن يتقن نظام التدوين هذا.

تعرّف ورشة العمل المشاركين بطريقة تسجيل مقتطفات من المعلومات بأسلوب منهجي متقن. وبما أن تدوينها يستلزم بالضرورة اتباع سلوك معرفي محدد، سيتم تحفيز المشاركين لتشغيل العقل بطرق معينة تساعدهم على استيعاب المعلومات وتخزينها لاستدعائها في الوقت المناسب. كما سيتعلمون كيفية إحدث توازن بين تسجيل الملاحظات من جهة ومعالجة المعلومات المسجّلة والربط بينها من جهة ثانية.

بنية الورشة:

تتألف الورشة من المحاور التالية:

  1. عرض تقديمي
  2. خطوات بسيطة نحو نظام التدوين
  3. تمرين عملي (يقوم به المدرب)
  4. دليل إرشادي خطوة بخطوة للتدوين
  5. تمارين عملية (يقوم بها المدرب)
  6. تمارين لتعزيز قدرة الاستماع (نصوص سمعية أو بصرية أو كليهما)
  7. تمارين جماعية قصيرة
  8. تمرين مقارن في تدوين الملاحظات: المدرب مقابل المشاركين
  9. خلاصة وتوصيات

المنهجية:

المرحلة 1: بعد التعرف على مهارة تدوين الملاحظات والخطوات التي تتضمنها، يستمع المشاركون لمجموعة من النصوص السمعية/البصرية البسيطة والقصيرة لتقييم حدّة ذاكرتهم القصيرة، ومن ثم تحليل المعلومات ونقلها إلى اللغة الهدف.

المرحلة 2: يقوم المدرب بتنفيذ تمرين عملي في تدوين الملاحظات أمام المشاركين. ويكون التمرين بمثابة دليل إرشادي خطوة بخطوة لمهارة تدوين الملاحظات.

المرحلة 3: هذه مرحلة الإدراك والاستيعاب حيث يشرع المشاركون بالتمرن، وتنقسم إلى: مرحلة الاستماع [الاستماع – الذاكرة (الذاكرة القصيرة) – تدوين الملاحظات]: ومرحلة إعادة الصياغة [تدوين الملاحظات – الذاكرة (الذاكرة الطويلة) – إنتاج النص النهائي باللغة الهدف].

المرحلة 4: تمارين جماعية قصيرة وتمارين مقارنة (المدرب مقابل المشاركين)، تليها خلاصة وتوصيات.

أهداف التعلم:

  1. بناء وتطوير مهارات المشاركين في تدوين الملاحظات
  2. تعريف وتدريب المشاركين على الترجمة التتبعية من خلال نظام التدوين
  3. تنفيذ تمارين ترجمة تتبعية حيّة واستخدام مختلف أنواع النصوص فيها
  4. تنفيذ تمارين تعزيز الذاكرة القصيرة

مخرجات التعلم:

  1. تعلم أساسيات تقنيات تدوين الملاحظات
  2. زيادة وعي المشاركين ببيئة الترجمة التتبعية
  3. اكتساب مهارات متقدمة نسبيًا في تقنيات الترجمة التتبعية
  4. تنفيذ تمارين في الترجمة التتبعية والتدرب على لهجات متنوعة
  5. الشروع بتوظيف تقنية التدوين في الترجمة التتبعية
  6. بناء استراتيجيات لتطوير الذاكرة القصيرة ومعالجة المعلومات 

المشاركون المستهدفون

تناسب ورشة العمل هذه طلاب الترجمة والمترجمين والمترجمين الفوريين، المبتدئون والمحترفون على السواء. كما يفيد حضور الورشة أخصائيي الخدمات الاجتماعية ثنائيي اللغة. الحد الأقصى لعدد المشاركين 20 مشاركًا.

قم بالتسجيل الآن

قائد ورشة العمل
مازن الفرحان

مترجم فوري أول وترجمان قانوني محلّف يحمل درجة الماجستير في الترجمة والترجمة الفورية من جامعة هيريوت وات، والماجستير في الدبلوماسية الدولية من جامعة لندن، ودبلوما في التعريب من جامعة دمشق. وهو يعمل منذ ست سنوات أخصائيًا في تدقيق الترجمة ومدربًا في معهد دراسات الترجمة بجامعة حمد بن خليفة.

حصل مازن على منحة سعيد في العام الأكاديمي 2000-2001 وعلى منحة تشيفننج في العام 2004-2005، ونال من كلية العلوم الإنسانية والاجتماعية بجامعة حمد بن خليفة جائزة ’أفضل ملصق ترجمة‘ في العام 2017 عن ترجمته إلى العربية دليل ’الترجمة الفورية في رحاب الرعاية الصحية‘ الذي نشرته مستشفيات جامعة جنيف عام 2016. كما نال ثلاث جوائز من مؤسسة قطر تقديرًا لتميزه الوظيفي.

على الصعيد التعليمي، قام مازن بتدريس مادة ’ترجمة المؤتمرات‘ لطلاب ماجستير الترجمة الفورية بجامعة دمشق لأربع سنوات (2009-2013). وبوصفه مترجمًا فوريًا محترفًا، شارك في أكثر من 150 فعالية محلية ودولية وترجم لفائدة العديد من القادة والمسؤولين، بمن فيهم كوفي عنان، الأمين العام الأسبق للأمم المتحدة، وخافيير سولانا، المنسق الأعلى الأسبق لشؤون الأمن والسياسة الخارجية الأوروبية، وبرويز مشرف، الرئيس الباكستاني الأسبق، وأتال بيهاري فاجبايي، رئيس وزراء الهند الأسبق، ورومانو برودي، رئيس وزراء إيطاليا الأسبق، وكمال خرازي، وزير خارجية إيران الأسبق، وسيرجيو دي ميلو، المبعوث الأممي الأسبق إلى العراق.

Top